skip navigation

World Under-17 Hockey Challenge


The World Under-17 Hockey Challenge is an International Tournament that is held every year by Hockey Canada. The tournament features eight teams, with all players under the age of 17. 

The field includes three Canadian teams and five international entries in a tournament that showcases of the future stars of the game. Since the first U17 tournament in 1986, the U.S. has been joined by 10 different countries: Canada, Czech Republic, Czechoslovakia, Finland, Germany, Norway, Russia, Slovakia, Soviet Union, and Sweden.

The World Under-17 Hockey Challenge has long been a starting point for professional careers, with more than 1,600 NHL draft picks having played in the tournament. That number includes 18 players selected first overall – Pierre Turgeon, Mats Sundin, Alexandre Daigle, Bryan Berard, Joe Thornton, Vincent Lecavalier, Ilya Kovalchuk, Rick Nash, Marc-André Fleury, Alexander Ovechkin, Eric Johnson, Patrick Kane, John Tavares, Taylor Hall, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Aaron Ekblad, Connor McDavid and Auston Matthews.

Tournament News

U.S. National Under-17 Team Wins World U17 Hockey Challenge

By 11/12/2017, 3:30am EST

Cole Caufield led the U.S. to a 6-4 victory with his hat trick.

GAME DAY: U17s Meet Canada Red in Championship Game

By 11/11/2017, 11:45am EST

The U17s will face Canada Red in the Championship game of the 2017 Under-17 World Hockey Challenge.

Boldy nets two in semifinal win.

GAME DAY: U17s Meet Canada White Again in Semifinal Game

By 11/10/2017, 12:00pm EST

The U17s will face-off against Canada White again in its World U17 Challenge semifinal game Friday.

GAME DAY: U17s Meet Sweden in U17 Challenge Quarter-Final

By 11/09/2017, 10:00am EST

After winning its group the U17 Team will face Team Sweden