skip navigation

Twenty-Seven NTDP Players Named to Central Scouting's Preliminary Players to Watch List

By USA Hockey's NTDP, 10/19/21, 11:00AM EDT


2022 NHL Draft will be held on July 7-8

Photo by Michael Caples

PLYMOUTH, Mich. - Twenty members of the 2021-22 U.S. National Under-18 Team and seven NTDP alums were named to the National Hockey League Central Scouting's 2021-22 Preliminary Players to Watch list in advance of the 2022 NHL Draft.

Five current players and one alum were named as A-ranked skaters, which indicates a player who is a candidate to be drafted in the first round. Ryan Chesley (Mahtomedi, Minn.) was the lone blueliner, joined by forwards Logan Cooley (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Cutter Gauthier (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Isaac Howard (Hudson, Wis.) Frank Nazar III (Mount Clemens, Mich.) and current Northeastern University forward Jack Hughes (Westwood, Mass.), a first-year draft eligible player who skated with the NTDP from 2019-21. 

Photo by Rena Laverty

Six current NTDPers were listed with a 'B' rating, indicating a 2nd- or 3rd round candidate in the draft - defensemen Seamus Casey (Fort Myers, Fla.) and Lane Hutson (North Barrington, Ill.) were joined by Devin Kaplan (Bridgewater, N.J.), Cruz Lucius (Grant, Minn.), Rutger McGroarty (Lincoln, Neb.) and Jimmy Snuggerud (Chaska, Minn.) up front. 

In addition, three players who skated with Team USA for parts of the 2020-21 season were listed as B-ranked skaters in Brennan Ali (Glencoe, Ill.), Jackson Dorrington (North Reading, Mass.) and Ryan Healey (Hingham, Mass.).

Nine current NTDP skaters were listed as C-ranked players, which marks a possible 4th-, 5th- or 6th round selection in the draft: goaltenders Tyler Muszelik (Long Valley, N.J.) and Dylan Silverstein (Calabasas, Calif.), defensemen Tyler Duke (Strongsville, Ohio), Charlie Leddy (Fairfield, Conn.) and Seamus Powell (Marcellus, N.Y.) and forwards Brady Berard (East Greenwich, R.I.), Maddox Fleming (Rochester, Minn.), Marek Hejduk (Parker, Colo.) and Cole Spicer (Grand Forks, N.D.).

Six alums were listed in Caden Brown (St. Louis, Mo / 2019-21), Jack Devine (Glencoe, Ill. / 2019-21), Gibson Homer (Grand Rapids, Mich. / 2019-21), Kaidan Mbereko (Aspen, Colo. / 2019-21), Ethan Straky (Ormond Beach, Fla. / 2019-21) and Hunter Strand (Anchorage, Alaska / 2018-20). 

Listed C-ranked players who wore the red, white and blue during the 2020-21 season include Trey Ausmus (East Grand Forks, Minn.), Michael Callow (South Boston, Mass.), Jack Harvey (Stacy, Minn.), Cole Knuble (East Grand Rapids, Mich.), Cameron Korpi (South Lyon, Mich.) and Jake Livanavage (Gilbert, Ariz.).

Current Under-18 players Hunter Brzustewicz (Washington Twp., Mich.) and Charlie Stramel (Rosemount, Minn.) are not age-eligible for the 2022 NHL Draft as their birthdays fall after the September 15 cutoff. 

In total, 36 players who have appeared for the NTDP were listed in the first rankings of the season. For the complete Central Scouting listing, click here

Watch the NTDP

Latest News

Feature Stories